Upcoming ORPCA Board Meetings

Nov 13

ORPCA Board of Directors Meeting – November

November 13 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Dec 11

ORPCA Board of Directors Meeting – December

December 11 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm


Bill Scholar’s first Porsche was a 1953 356 Coupe. Partly out of frustration at having no organization to turn to with questions about the car, he invited a small group or Porsche owners to his home on February 5, 1955. They made plans to get together from time to time throughout the remainder of that year to do what Porsche pushers do best- talk about, look at, work on, drive, etc.- their cars. They finally decided to form a club in September, 1955, and the first official meeting of the Porsche Club of America was held at Blackie’s Grill in Alexandria, Virginia. Bill Scholar was elected as its first President by the 12 individuals in attendance. The original 12 became 64, and also became the Potomac Region. As membership grew, new regions began forming all across the United States. The annual PCA meetings, “known as a Parade”, are hosted by a different region each year. The Oregon Region hosted Parades in 1980 and 1995 and 2006.

The Oregon Region Porsche Club of America (ORPCA) was born as a result of splitting off from what was then known as the Washington Region (now known as the Pacific Northwest Region). On July 24, 1960, the Oregon Region’s first meeting was held at the Lake Grove home of Mr. and Mrs. Dolph Trachi. There were 32 members. The first organized event was a Concours d’Elegance held on September 25, 1960. September also marked the first appearance of the Anzeiger, the Region’s newsletter.

The Oregon Region celebrated its 50th Anniversary in September 2010. As of end of 2018 we have over 1000 members and a wide variety of 80+ events per year designed to appeal to a very diverse membership. One thing has remained constant, “enthusiasm for the marque and pride in the enthusiasts themselves”.

The Beginnings: PCA Oregon Region Newsletter 1960

Vol.1 No. 1 Club Newsletter
Vol. 1 No. 2 Club Newsletter

PCA Zone 6 Regional Clubs

ORPCA Past Presidents

Larry Hannan: June 2017 – Current
Eric Underwood:  Jan 2018 May 2018
Joe McQueen: 2015 – 2017
Eric Freedle: 2013 – 2014
Jim North:   2011 – 2012
Kathleen Ellis: 2009 – 2010
Chuck West: 2007 – 2008
Jeff Gretz: 2005 -2006
Don Stroum: 2004
Don Clinkinbeard: 2002 – 2003
Carol Beutz: 2000 – 2001
John Draneas: 1998 – 1999
Jeff Butts: 1997
Sandra Gotthardt: 1996
Dave Palmer: 1995
Mark Fisher: 1994
Michael Ashe: 1993
Mark Fisher: 1994
Dennis Brookshire: 1991 1992
Douglas Muzatko: 1989 1990
Chuck Hervey: 1987 1988
Tracee Harsch: 1986

R Paul Aragon: 1985
Ric Tiplady: 1983 – 1984
Chuck Hervey: 1983
Steve Harsch: 1982
Dan Dickson: 1981
Bill Shores: 1980
Bob Caspell: 1979
Paul Vincent: 1978 
Steve George: 1977
Dennis Puetz: 1976
Dennis Phelan: 1975
Fred Flegel: 1974
Tom Gleim: 1973
Fred Bowman: 1971 – 1972
Ken Luthe: 1970
Gary Ragsdale:  1969
Ken Charters: 1967 – 1968
Don Kemmerich: 1963 – 1966
Gary Long: 1963
Arnie and J.O. Anderson: 1961 – 1962
Pete McGill: 1961
Dick Steiff: 1960


2018 Bylaws of the Oregon Region of the Porsche Club of America

Oregon PCA Bylaws 2018

In 2018, a committee consisting of President, Larry Hannan, Past President, Kathleen Ellis and Secretary, Peg Ryan reviewed the current document and provided a number of updates:

  1. Cleaned up formatting issues, made section consistently formatted between sections, fixed spelling errors.
  2. Classes of members were updated to match the PCA membership classes. President Emeritus class was added.
  3. At-Large members were renamed to Board Members At-Large to better reflect their role.
  4. Revised Secretary duties to reflect actual process of recoding of votes in Board Meetings.
  5. Added Secretary to the list of elected Officers and added required experience.
  6. Changed the date of communication of the notice of nominations of Board openings to August.
  7. Voting members definition updated.

This document was finalized and communicated to members in November, 2018 and finalized on December 5, 2018.